The Word of Janus, Patrick David Daley

Word of Janus cover

Sean Brennan has returned to Janus, an uncharted island in the North Atlantic. Brought there by the Spirit’s demands, he soon becomes an unwilling participant in a series of events that force Sean to consider a life predestined for him through the words in a two-thousand-year-old document. 
 
Unwilling to follow the path determined for him, Sean decides to negotiate with the Spirit, believing he can somehow escape the expectations placed upon him. During the discussions, Sean begins exploring the possibilities of what could be if he chooses to work with the Spirit. Although there is the promise of a world at peace, Sean is still reluctant to dedicate his life to the Spirit’s mission.  
 
But when events far beyond Janus, and driven by the Praetorian Order’s Dante Sabatini, directly impact the island, Sean realizes his life may not be his own. Trapped between the lure of Janus’s tranquillity and the Spirit’s demands, Sean must decide if the love of a beautiful woman and the hopes of the island’s spiritual leader are enough to force him into following what is seemingly his true destiny. 

Patrick David Daley has done it again. Daley has written a superb, perfect sequel to The Mark of Janus and I could not be happier; this novel was simply mind-blowing and beyond brilliant as well as thought-provoking. It is the kind of novel that will stay with the reader for a long time, the kind of novel that will leave a mark and the kind of novel that will entertain you from beginning to end…It is this kind of read and so much more. Before I proceed with my review I should mention that The Word of Janus is the second novel in The Janus Chronicles series, therefore there will be minor plot spoilers for The Mark of Janus as the synopsis above discusses what this novel is about which takes place after the first novel. If you do not want to be spoiled then please read my review of the first novel The Mark of Janus and if you love the sound of the book, buy it and then come back here to read my review! However, do not worry too much as this review will not contain many spoilers, here is a little bit more about this brilliant novel! 

The Word of Janus picks up right after the events of the first novel, The Mark of Janus. The reader is soon reunited with the novels protagonist Sean and the reader still gets to follow him on his journey and exploration of self-discovery. Sean currently is in turmoil as he struggles with his decisions and what he should do and this is really what The Word of Janus is about, it is a continuation of the things we learned about in the first novel and a continuation of Sean’s character. This is all I am going to write about this novel as I am careful not to spoil it for anybody but what I will say is that it really is an incredible read!  

The Word of Janus is an intriguing, memorable, fascinating story that hooked me from beginning to end. When I picked up this novel I knew that I was in capable hands; I knew that the author of the novel Patrick David Daley was an impeccable writer and that I was about to read an expansion of an already brilliant story and this is just what happened. The Word of Janus is incredible and I knew it would be because the first novel was brilliant. I was excited and eager to start reading because of the first novel, The Mark of Janus, left me with so many questions so I was eager to know the answers and curious to what those answers would be. I adored how this novel was a continuation, how the reader has reunited once again with Sean and his magnificent, life-changing journey. It really is a novel that takes the reader on an exceptional journey and it is fascinating to read, I revelled in the story and completely immersed myself and this is all thanks to the author of the novels incredible, magnificent writing.  

Patrick David Daley has once again written a superb story; his writing this time around is even more brilliant and intriguing and this is thanks to his expansion of the world and his characters. Daley’s series is soon becoming a favourite of mine and this is because of the immense detail he has included in his work, it is rich and in-depth and send my mind into overdrive. It is an imaginative story that kept me hooked and intrigued until the very end and these are the kind of books I adore to read. I truly was impressed with the writing, world building and characters and so I would implore all of you lovely readers to pick this novel up and read it because it is truly incredible! Well, pick the first novel, The Mark of Janus up and then this one!  

To summarize my thoughts on The Word of Janus I would say if you adore different, unique, original reads that are thought-provoking as well as thrilling then you will adore this incredible, wondrous story. This book gets Five Stars from me!  

Thank you so much for reading my review book lovers! I appreciate it so much. I love interacting with all of you lovely readers so please do comment below and let me know your thoughts on this brilliant book. What do you think of the premise? Is it a book you could see yourself reading? Please do let me know! Thank you so much again for reading!
 

Goodbye for now book lovers,
 

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! Please have a read of the preview and if you find that you have loved what you have read then all you need to do is click the Buy on Amazon button and it will take you straight to the book on Amazon USA! If you are in the U.K. then below I have attached a link to the book for the Amazon U.K. website. I have also attached some links about the author and this wonderful book! Thank you so much again for reading book lovers, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this book!

Amazon USA

Kobo

Barnes & Noble

Author Website

Author Twitter

Author Facebook

Author Instagram

 

6 thoughts on “The Word of Janus, Patrick David Daley

Leave a Reply

