The Hunter’s Rede, F.T. McKinstry

IMG_4741.JPG

Lorth of Ostarin is a hunter of men. Lawless, solitary and obscure, he is trained in magic and its inherent order. This uneasy combination of pitilessness and structure has made him the highest paid assassin in the land. It is also about to throw his life into chaos.

The trouble begins when Lorth returns home from a long absence to find his old haunts compromised by a cruel, upstart warlord who has invaded the realm and pushed it to the brink of war. Lorth’s cavalier attempt to elude a political sandpit quickly deteriorates into a series of skirmishes that he negotiates with a sword and a reckless penchant for using magic against the rules. He flees with a price on his head; but no angry warlords, wizards, foreign aristocrats or spooky apparitions can rattle him from the dark stability of his profession—until he is captured and condemned to execution by a formidable wizard who serves the old powers.

In his quest to prove his innocence and loyalty to the realm, Lorth discovers the value of his conflict between war and wizardry. But his quest turns bloody when love for a priestess and a will to avenge his homeland drives him to infiltrate an enemy occupation bent on domination and a blatant disregard for the forces of magic. This brings him to his greatest test, where he must surrender to the darkness of his nature to become a hunter, unlike anything he has ever known.

The Hunter’s Rede is a fascinating, engaging tale that gripped me from beginning to end. It is an intriguing fantasy tale, one that is original with many interesting plots and many fascinating themes; this is why this fantasy novel stands out for me and does not blend in with the average fantasy books we see today, I cannot quite explain it but this novel is just different, it is special and unique and already I implore you wonderful readers to read it! It was apparent to me from very early on that the author of the novel F.T. McKinstry has poured her heart and soul into her work and that made me fall in love with this fantastical tale even more. Here is a little bit more about this wonderful book!

The Hunter’s Rede is a brilliant story with an incredible premise; our novel is centred around the novel’s protagonist Lorth, Lorth is an expertly trained and deadly assassin who is known for being one of the best in all of the land. Lorth is usually well equipped for all the battles he fights, however, his latest and most deadly assignment takes him on a dangerous journey that pulls him into the thick of war. At this point in the novel the reader is whisked away on a magical and deadly journey as Lorth is in turmoil, having to choose between two opposing sides all whilst defending himself, it is a novel that is full of action, suspense and many exhilarating moments and this is all whilst Lorths unique magical abilities and heritage come to light and it makes for an intriguing, unforgettable story!

My above synopsis of The Hunter’s Rede is short and I am sorry if you wanted a longer one, however,  I intended to do this as I did not want to spoil the thrilling story for all of you wonderful readers! It is such an incredible fantasy read that it needs to be read and it needs to be experienced by the individual reader. It is a novel with a realm that is so big that the plot is full of so many wonderful and beautifully stunning moments, people and objects; it is an unforgettable tale about assassins, magic, war, politics, royalty and so much more. This novel really did captivate me as a reader and what I have seen from other reviews, everybody is saying this. It truly is a wonderful unforgettable tale and I implore all of you lovely readers to read it!

As well as this story being impeccable it is also detailed and complex but wonderfully so, not confusingly so in any way. The reader is taken on Lorth’s journey through many visually stunning lands, I adored how the reader gets to learn all about the assassin lifestyle and what I loved, even more, was how essentially this novel is a character study about an assassin and it made this read even for fascinating for me.

The novel’s author F.T. McKinstry blew me away with her impeccable writing from the very first page. I mentioned earlier in my review that I noticed straight away that her heart and soul had been poured into her novel and this still is prominent to me. I noticed very early on that McKinstry has a passion for fantasy and what is better than that is that she knows what a reader would want in a fantasy novel and this was really incredible for me. I always love and admire when I can feel the passion in the author’s words jump off the page so that is why I find this novel so special, plus, this combined with her wonderful writing make it a stunning piece of literature! McKinstry’s writing is detailed and articulate; never once does this novel halt or become stagnant and never once does it drag along. McKinstry has ensured this by including many incredible assassin battles as well as incredible plot twists and turns all whilst she has written some visually stunning imagery to captivate and enthral the reader’s mind. McKinstry really is a skilful, talented writer and she is definitely one fantasy writer to watch out for!

McKinstry has perfectly created an incredible protagonist as well as a host of many other wonderful characters. Lorth, the novel’s protagonist, is a deadly assassin however you cannot help but love him, he may be an assassin and capable of murder but he is also capable of compassion and passion and this is evident when the reader discovers a love interest of his. I think that a lot of people today believe that men who have tough jobs, i.e. marine, guard, fighter etc means that they are heartless and cold but this is the opposite. I am married to a Marine myself and when I actually met him I was told by my grandmother to be careful as they are tough and sure, they are tough! But this does not mean tough men are not capable of love. My point is that I really admired McKinstry for exploring this theme. Lorth really is a wonderful character and the reader can sympathise with him very early on, so him, combined with the other well thought out, believable characters make this novel even more incredible!

To conclude my thoughts, I would say if you adore fantasy tales that feature assassins and an incredible, visually stunning world that explores political themes as well as love then you will adore this book! This wonderful novel gets Five Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! Please do comment below and let me know your thoughts about this wonderful novel, do you see yourself reading it? Let me know below! Thank you so much for reading I really appreciate it!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on Amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

P.P.S. My review for the second book in this series; The Gray Isles will be reviewed on here sometime next week! I have also heard that the third book, The Winged Hunter will be released October 2017 and the fourth book, The Riven God will be released December 2018. How exciting!! Thanks again book lovers!

Amazon USA

Goodreads

Barnes & Noble

iTunes Books

Kobo

Smashwords

Author Website

Author Goodreads

Author Facebook

Author Twitter

Author Pinterest

Author Google +

Author Art Website

12 thoughts on “The Hunter’s Rede, F.T. McKinstry

Leave a Reply

