Pebble in the Dark, Antony Botting

The Pebble lay lost and undisturbed for millennia, harbouring answers to eternal questions. Five sealed auction invitations, sent to heads of state to ensure that the Pebble does not fall into the hands of a clandestine organisation by the name of Onyx, trigger an unforeseen sequence of events. The residence of Ambassador Francis Sunderland is the venue for a celebration in honour of Wasyl Bohdanov, which takes a turn for the sinister. The Ambassador is contacted by an old friend, but it isn’t a social call. A young woman will stop at nothing to deliver the Pebble to Onyx. The organisation which took her in and protected her from a terrible past. The stage is set for humanity’s ultimate struggle for knowledge and power. 

The Pebble in the Dark is a brilliant, shocking story with a unique premise that is the perfect escapism from everyday life; It is a well planned and thought out novel that is easy to get lost in due to the novels fantastic plot but also because the novel is written in a vividly descriptive way. The science fiction elements as well as the espionage elements meant that I was engrossed in this novel the whole way through and the vivid descriptions made this novel play out like a movie in my mind! Here is a little bit more about this intriguing novel.

This novel has a somewhat complicated plot because of the many different themes that are explored throughout it however in no way is it confusing. I want to say as little as possible about this novel because the plot is so perfect that I do not want to spoil it but all I will say is that the novel is centred around mysterious Pebbles and they must not fall into the wrong hands, this is very important and if so then disastrous events will occur. You will not find out what these Pebbles can do from me so you will need to read this exciting tale to find out!

Pebbles in the Dark is an intriguing fascinating story which takes place in Eastern Europe in Bulgaria, it is the perfect thriller and science fiction novel and at times it is very menacing all whilst it is a beautifully told story. I found this novel incredibly hard to put down as I was so engrossed in the plot from very early on, the plot may be a little complex but as I mentioned earlier it was in no way confusing and in fact our author Antony Botting simplified many terms for his reader so it truly was a breeze to read.

As well as this novel being incredible it was also unpredictable, there was not one part in this book where I knew where the plot was heading and this was incredible to me. I adored the many themes explored in this novel such as artificial intelligence, more technology, androids and all things awesome science fiction all whilst mystery and shock are evident throughout. I would say now if you are interested in artificial intelligence and alien contact and even espionage then this novel is for you!

Antony Botting is a brilliant writer and this was apparent to me from the very beginning due to his vivid, descriptive writing which had me lost in this mad but brilliant world. He has managed to write a captivating story full of unexpected twists and turns all whilst the plot and pacing of the novel are perfect. Throughout my time reading this wonderful book not once did I get bored, I was intrigued the whole way through and desperately wanted to reach the end to learn all about what was going to happen and I desperately wanted to get to the bottom of this wonderful mystery!

To summarise my thoughts on this enchanting novel I would say if you are looking for a brilliant science fiction novel which is full of intrigue and many shocking moments then this is the novel for you! This wonderful novel gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! Please do comment below and let me know your thoughts about this wonderful novel, do you see yourself reading it? Let me know below! Thank you so much for reading I really appreciate it!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on Amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

Amazon USA

Author Twitter

Goodreads

Author Facebook

Leave a Reply

