Gunning for Angels, C. Mack Lewis

When a golden haired beauty is found brutally slain, the last thing that sixteen-year old Enid Iglowski expected was to become the prime suspect. Running away from her troubled home in Florida and newly arrived in Phoenix in search of her real father, a private detective named Jack Fox, Enid finds herself caught in a web of murder, violence and underage sex trafficking. 

Jack Fox, not handsome enough for Hollywood but too damned handsome for his own good, lands a plum job when the mysterious, gorgeous and stratospherically wealthy Eve Hargrove shows up at his office and drops a stack of cash in his lap. All he has to do is drop her troubled sister’s case – a down on her luck stripper with legs from here to the next zip code. It would all be so easy – if he didn’t have an inconvenient hard-on for the truth – and Eve.When a corpse is found in the desert, a cold case gets red hot for Detective Bud Orlean, who will sacrifice everything, including his marriage, to prove that Eve Hargrove is a sociopathic killer. When the bodies start piling up and Enid Iglowski is at the centre of every mess, Bud finds himself forced to work with the one man he despises, Jack Fox, to get to the truth.

Gunning for Angels is a book that kept me hooked from the very first page; it is a dark, gritty mystery which captured my attention from the start and never once did my interest or attention waiver. This is why I really loved this novel, mysteries for me can be a troublesome genre as most of them appear to copies and I hate reading a mystery novel which is not original or unique. This is definitely not the case with Lewis’s novel Gunning for Angels as her enchanting novel was unique, original and such a thrilling, enjoyable ride! Here is a little bit more about this magnificent novel!

Gunning for Angels is a book that kept me hooked from the very first page; it is a dark, gritty mystery which captured my attention from the start and never once did my interest or attention waiver. This is why I really loved this novel, mysteries for me can be a troublesome genre as most of them appear to copies and I hate reading a mystery novel which is not original or unique. This is definitely not the case with Lewis’s novel Gunning for Angels as her enchanting novel was unique, original and such a thrilling, enjoyable ride! Here is a little bit more about this magnificent novel! Our novel follows Private eye Jack Fox; Jack is a Lothario who cannot resist woman.  Jack has always walked through life thinking that he is childless however this is until he discovers that he has a daughter named Enid, who was the result from one of his one-night stands sixteen years earlier. He discovers that Enid has run away from her alcoholic mother and has fled to Phoenix, Arizona to find her father-Jack. This is where our novel begins, it is a fast-moving detective novel about a New Jersey native (Jack Fox) transplanted to Scottsdale, Arizona and the adventure that he goes on makes for a thrilling, gripping read!

Our novel follows Private eye Jack Fox; Jack is a Lothario who cannot resist woman.  Jack has always walked through life thinking that he is childless however this is until he discovers that he has a daughter named Enid, who was the result from one of his one-night stands sixteen years earlier. He discovers that Enid has run away from her alcoholic mother and has fled to Phoenix, Arizona to find her father-Jack. This is where our novel begins, it is a fast-moving detective novel about a New Jersey native (Jack Fox) transplanted to Scottsdale, Arizona and the adventure that he goes on makes for a thrilling, gripping read!

Gunning for Angels is a story that is full of suspense, surprise and a great amount of shock. It is a novel that keeps you on the edge of your seat constantly; just when you think you know what is going to happen, a plot move comes into play and it throws you of course all over again. I loved this aspect to this novel because I detest books that are incredibly predictable. However, this is not the case with this thrilling novel as it is never once predictable and it always manages to keep you enticed. Everything about this novel is all perfectly woven together and it makes for a thrilling mystery that you will not forget for a long time! I have to say at this point how I adored that the novel was based in New Jersey and then Arizona. I am British but I live in New Jersey so I adored this so much but my husband was born in Arizona so again I adored reading about two of my favourite states! I loved the detail in which the author spoke about the states too, I found myself recognising the places in which she was talking about and it made my mind go into over drive and my imagination of this novel and its happening was so visually stunning and that is all down to the authors incredible writing!Mack Lewis has written an incredible novel in which she brings a unique literary style and a fresh perspective and attitude on the mystery genre. I have read a lot of mystery/thriller novels over the years so I am rarely surprised by anything I have read but Lewis has managed to lift this disappointment and make me fall in love with the genre all over again because she managed to surprise me time and time again and that was so incredibly refreshing for me to read!

C. Mack Lewis has written an incredible novel in which she brings a unique literary style and a fresh perspective and attitude on the mystery genre. I have read a lot of mystery/thriller novels over the years so I am rarely surprised by anything I have read but Lewis has managed to lift this disappointment and make me fall in love with the genre all over again because she managed to surprise me time and time again and that was so incredibly refreshing for me to read!

Lewis’s quick rhythm to her character dialogue and the pacing of the novel as well as her visually stunning descriptive details brought this incredible story to life. Her authentic world building, as well as her believable character development, made me love this novel; another aspect which made me love her novel is that her novel contains a lot of harsh crimes. I always adore as a reader when an author pushes the boundaries with regards to violent and gruesome behaviours and Lewis certainly did not hold back with these themes in Gunning for Angels!

To conclude my thoughts on Gunning for Angels I would say if you adore creative, strong characters combined with a plot that continues to build with shock, tension and surprise the whole way through then this is definitely a novel for you! This incredible novel gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much as ever for reading book lovers! I would love to hear your thoughts on this novel and whether you could see yourself reading it; I would love to know! Let me know whether you adore mysteries and thrillers also! Thank you so much as ever for reading!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on Amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

15 thoughts on “Gunning for Angels, C. Mack Lewis

  1. Propеrly like Mommy said, after wee lovee one
    another aand love the world thaqt Jesus died for, that?ѕ a kind of worship.
    Ater we think about God and take herd to the sermon or in Sunday Faculty,
    tһat?s a way of worshipping as a result of were learning һow niϲe God is
    and He likes that. Or after we sit roᥙnd аnd іnf᧐rm
    each ᧐ther what the best things abou God are. You understtand how much you like
    listening to people say howw good or cute you boys are? Nihely Gօd ⅼikes when we talk together about һoᴡ nice he is.?

    Dаddy ansᴡered.

    Like

Leave a Reply

