Blackwing, Ed McDonald

Blackwing

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow’s Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer’s legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall’s ‘Engine’, a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery – a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic’s defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic’s bluff.

Blackwing is a novel that is making strides in the fantasy genre and a novel that has been praised highly by fantasy readers as one of the best novels of the year. After reading this novel I can happily say that this really is one of the best novels of 2017 and an incredible, unforgettable fantasy read. Blackwing is a fast-paced, gritty, epic fantasy tale unlike anything I have read before; The novel captured me from the very beginning thanks to the author’s immaculate world building as well as the authors impeccable writing. As I write my review I am finding that I am still shocked from the brilliance that is in between these pages, I need to take a moment and appreciate this novel because it floored me!

Blackwing begins in a strange and deadly wasteland named Misery; Misery is a post-apocalyptic plain which is disturbing, ruthless, unforgiving but also fascinating. The vast scope of the land of Misery is highly unpredictable, it is a land full of grotesque, mutated creatures that instill terror in the hearts of everyone… well, almost everyone. This is the point in the novel where the reader is introduced to the Blackwing Mercenaries; they are the deadliest and most fearsome crew that brave Misery and all the terrifying creatures it holds and this is all I am willing to say about this novel! The plot of this novel is so brilliant that I do not want to spoil it for you lovely readers who hope to read this wonderful book.

The novel’s author Ed McDonald has written a story that is unpredictable and full of intense action, it may be a fantasy novel but it is a story that is so much more than just fantasy. It is novel that features heavily on politics, the inner workings of it and let’s not forget the disputes and betrayal that accompany it. The politics, combined with fantasy, action, monsters and so much more make Blackwing an unforgettable, splendid novel.

McDonald’s writing and storytelling are flawless and very impressive seeing as Blackwing is his debut novel. As a reader, I was surprised and enchanted how he had managed to build an exciting, in-depth and memorable world for his piece of literature so that to me screams talent and makes me fall even more in love with this incredible book. At this point in my review, I wish I had more to write about but the story of Blackwing is so in-depth and brilliant that I do not want to spoil it or give away too much information as this novel is to be read, experienced and felt.

To conclude my thoughts on Blackwing if you are looking for an epic fantasy tale that is unique, full of incredible action as well as a compelling storyline then this novel is for you! This wonderful tale gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I really do appreciate it. Please do comment below your thoughts on this novel and whether you could see yourself reading it. Do you adore fantasy novels? How about novels that feature post-apocalyptic lands? Do let me know below as I would love to know what all of you lovely readers are thinking. Thank you once again for reading!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Book Depository link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

 

Book Depository

Publisher; Orion – Gollancz

304 thoughts on “Blackwing, Ed McDonald

      1. Ha!😂 I generally only read fantasy and yes, I find writing reviews for fantasy hard!😂

        Not really the place and character names. But, what I find really hard is if it’s a book in a fantasy series, you can’t really mention what has gone on in the previous books, etc as it would spoil them if someone read the review and wanted to read them which is why I only vaguely skim over the story to avoid spoilers as trying to recap a book without ruining what happened in the previous books is a nightmare! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes that is another good point! It is so difficult to review books which are in a series! It’s difficult to talk about the plot and characters. Especially since all of my reviews are mostly spoiler free. I am glad I am not the only one though! (:

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sounds pretty dang cool!
    And even though it’s not as important as the content, I adore the cover, so great.

    Been looking for a new fantasy book to sink my teeth into and this might just fit the bill.
    Especially as you mention great world building, which to me is a very important part of fantasy.

    Like

      1. Oh yes I would definitely recommend it! I too was scared about reading it because of the hype but I adored it. I actually have a review for it on my blog so if you want to read that it will tell you how good it is! That is not me trying to get you to read my review either lol.

        Like

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which
    I think I would never understand. It seems too complex
    and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post,
    I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    Like

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really
    something which I think I would never understand. It seems too
    complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try
    to get the hang of it!

    Like

  4. I blog often and I genuinely appreciate your content.

    This great article has really peaked my interest. I will take a note of
    your website and keep checking for new information about once a week.

    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    Like

  5. I blog often and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I will take
    a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once
    a week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    Like

  6. It iis the best time to makoe some plans for the future and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wiish to suggest
    you few interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even moore things about it!

    Like

  7. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that ttoo feww men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

    Like

  8. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.

    I am looking forward for your next post, I will
    try to get the hang of it!

    Like

  9. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try
    to get the hang of it!

    Like

  10. Undeniably believe that which youu stated. Your favlrite reason seemed
    to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries thnat they just do not know about.
    You managed to hitt the nail upon the top as well as defined
    outt the whole thuing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will probably bbe back to get more. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

