Fever Dream, Samanta Schweblin

fever dream

A young woman named Amanda lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He’s not her child.

The two seem anxious and, at David’s ever more insistent prompting, Amanda recounts a series of events from the apparently recent past. As David pushes her to recall whatever trauma has landed her in her terminal state, he unwittingly opens a chest of horrors, and suddenly the terrifying nature of their reality is brought into shocking focus.

This novel has shocked, astounded me and magnificently surprised me. This is a novel that is very hard to talk about so right now all I can describe is the feeling I felt as I read this novel and this was a feeling of a suffocating sense of dread that never let up once. It is a very strange, unique, intriguing story and I have to say the title of this novel is beautifully perfect as this novel reads like a disturbing but magnificent dream. Here is a little bit more about this spellbinding novel.

Fever Dream opens with a disorienting conversation between a mother and a young boy that immediately gets you intrigued. Soon we find out that our narrator, Amanda, is lying in a hospital bed, answering questions that is asked of her with much urgency by a young boy named David. Amanda is telling a story… well, recounting events that happened to her to David and this is all whilst David is trying to identify ‘the important thing’. Confused? You should be! That is the point of this novel, well in the beginning it is at least but to tell you a little bit more I would say that David, this young, unknown boy at Amanda’s side, wants to know how Amanda is in the hospital all whilst also trying to figure out what happened to Amanda’s young daughter.

Our story is a strange story and is definitely the first of its kind. It was a unique story because I feared to read it as I feared the ending but at the same time I was desperate to get to that ending and so I could not put this book down. I read this book in one sitting and that is how everybody should read it. It is a short novel as it is but this really is a novel that draws you in from the first page so you can’t resist but reading it in one sitting anyway!

It is a novel that has a lot going on but our author Schweblin’s delivery is perfectly paced as the plot of the novel develops so in no way does it become too much. There is an eerie tone to this novel, a something not right feeling and that sticks with the reader the whole way through and I have to say I adore this type of literature. It was fun and exciting but also very scary. I wanted to read this and I didn’t want to at the same time and this is all down to our masterful author Samanta Schweblin.

Schweblin’s prose is certainly unique but it is thrilling, fascinating and gripping at the same time. The dialogue is very different to what you would usually read but I loved this and I wish more authors took the same kind of risks that our author did with this novel. Fever Dream is an impeccably well structured, thought out novel with incredible, hard hitting literature which will grasp you from the very first page. This book has been nominated for the Man Booker Prize and I would be surprised if it did not win. Let me know your thoughts below on who you think should win!

To conclude all I can say is that this is a novel that begs to be read. It is a novel that is full of mystery, intrigue and shock. Please, I implore all of you to read this novel, it truly deserves to be read, it is a novel that will shock and entice you at the same time. This strange but brilliant work of art gets Five Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I appreciate it so much. I really do adore when all of you lovely people comment so please do comment below your thoughts on this novel. This novel is quite popular at the moment so I am sure many of you have some thoughts about it. Do you enjoy reading eerie stories? Let me know! Thank you so much again for reading!

 

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Book Depository link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

Book Depository

Publisher; One World

 

36 thoughts on “Fever Dream, Samanta Schweblin

      1. I’ve seen rave reviews lately for See What I Have Done. And it’s not really a thriller, but I think you may enjoy Salvation of a Saint by Kiego Higashino.

        Like

      2. No, it doesn’t. I don’t want to say too mucch about it, because spoilers. Check it out on goodreads.

        Like

  1. Your review has certainly made me want to read this novel – will be ordering it at once! I love books that are unusual and this one sounds unlike anything I’ve read recently. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

    1. I too love books with an unusual story however I haven’t found any recently. So when I came across this book I knew I had to read it. It is so great and I can’t wait for you to have it in your hands! (:

      Like

Leave a Reply

