Blackwing, Ed McDonald

Blackwing

 

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow’s Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer’s legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall’s ‘Engine’, a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery – a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic’s defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic’s bluff.

Blackwing is a fast-paced, gritty, epic fantasy novel and it is unlike anything I have read before. It is a novel that captured me from the very beginning thanks to the authors immaculate world building and impeccable writing. As I write this I truly am shocked, I need to take a moment and appreciate what I have just read because this novel floored me! This is a novel that is difficult to talk about and no words will ever be able to do it justice but here is a little bit more about this fantasy tale!

Our novels begins in a place named Misery after the action of Captain Galharrow and his crew of the Blackwing mercenaries during their latest mission. The Misery is a fascinating place that intrigued me from the very beginning, it is a post-apocalyptic wasteland and it is ruthless. The vast expanse of the land of Misery is unpredictable, frightening and full of grotesque, terrifying mutated creatures that could give you nightmares and only, the bravest dare enter these parts of Misery and they do so under the guidance of the three moons and this is all what I want to say about this novel so I don’t end up spoiling its magnificent story!

The story of Blackwing is an unpredictable, intense thrill of a read. It features betrayal, political disputes, and many twists and turns that will make you fall madly in love. It is splendid novel from a debut author that is brilliantly written and to say it is hard to put down is an understatement! Its story is original and complex but no way is it ever confusing! What impressed me the most about this story was its wonderful world building. Fantasy writers are god like to me, they have an imagination which is unlike anything; their thinking is bold, different, and perfect and this is certainly the case with McDonald’s creation.

McDonald’s writing floored me, the world he has created is a world that is far greater and far more advanced than your average fantasy novel. I adored how the world of Blackwing is advanced and that it did not just take place in Misery but rather many other places also. His writing truly did hook me from the beginning and I adored it!

To conclude my thoughts on Blackwing if you are looking for an epic fantasy tale that is full of incredible, action and a compelling storyline then this novel is for you! This wonderful tale gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I really do appreciate it. Please do comment below your thoughts on this novel and whether you could see yourself reading it. Do you adore fantasy novels? Let me know below! Thank you so much again!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Book Depository link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

Book Depository

Publisher; Orion – Gollancz

81 thoughts on “Blackwing, Ed McDonald

      1. Ha!😂 I generally only read fantasy and yes, I find writing reviews for fantasy hard!😂

        Not really the place and character names. But, what I find really hard is if it’s a book in a fantasy series, you can’t really mention what has gone on in the previous books, etc as it would spoil them if someone read the review and wanted to read them which is why I only vaguely skim over the story to avoid spoilers as trying to recap a book without ruining what happened in the previous books is a nightmare! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes that is another good point! It is so difficult to review books which are in a series! It’s difficult to talk about the plot and characters. Especially since all of my reviews are mostly spoiler free. I am glad I am not the only one though! (:

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sounds pretty dang cool!
    And even though it’s not as important as the content, I adore the cover, so great.

    Been looking for a new fantasy book to sink my teeth into and this might just fit the bill.
    Especially as you mention great world building, which to me is a very important part of fantasy.

    Like

      1. Oh yes I would definitely recommend it! I too was scared about reading it because of the hype but I adored it. I actually have a review for it on my blog so if you want to read that it will tell you how good it is! That is not me trying to get you to read my review either lol.

        Like

Leave a Reply

