You’re Not Dead, Jason Garden

You’re Not Dead chronicles its Hero’s travels during his ten-month hospitalization, beginning with his viral meningoencephalitis, and ending with his struggle to regain his life and independence.  
 
Acerbic and illuminating, You’re Not Dead pulls the reader into the Hero’s lived experience, while peeling away the layers of politeness we often use when discussing disability.  
 
The Hero is brutally honest as he writes of his journey through the medical system. He speaks of overwhelming pessimism, of pronouncements from “on high” made with little knowledge of his condition or progress, and of being spoken at, rather than being spoken to.  
 
You’re Not Dead is both devastating and inspiring, highlighting the importance of perseverance in the face of profound adversity. 

You’re Not Dead is a unique, touching and heartfelt novel. It is a novel that touched my heart and made me feel all different kinds of emotions. Its story is poignant and its protagonist important; it is a novel that is an essential read for anybody, especially those who think life is not worth fighting for.

This novel is very deep and very harrowing at times but at the same time it is still a story of hope and perseverance despite adversity. You’re Not Dead follows a man who has been on a brutal and unrelenting journey. It all starts with our protagonist being hospitalised for ten long months due to a deadly virus that should have killed him. Normally with these kind of literary novels we only see the now but this novel takes the reader on a journey. We follow our protagonist as we witness him struggling to regain his life and independence back and its result as a novel makes it a literary masterpiece. One that is breathtakingly stunning.

You’re Not Dead is a unique story and I have to admit that I never usually read novels like this. Normally I would avoid these kind of stories because I hate to read a book that depresses me and dampens my mood. Don’t get me wrong, those novels are important too but when you have four children I can’t afford to read a book that upsets me too much! So that is why I loved this novel because although it is deeply upsetting at times it is also moving and at the core of the story the importance of preserving despite everything is a prominent theme and that was so wonderfully beautiful to me. This part to the novel reminded me of Room. Room is a deeply harrowing book although it is also a story of hope and that wonderful novel had similarities to this very novel.

Our author Jason Garden is a true literary talent and I truly believe that he is one to watch. Garden writes with such poignancy and poetic beauty that you can’t help but fall madly in love with the novel, the story, the characters, the writing, the setting… everything and that shows that this author is incredibly talented.

His descriptions are what captured my heart and imagination the most as well as his superb character building with our protagonist. I love reading stories that take me on a journey and Garden certainly did with this one so thank you so much for writing such an exceptional novel!

To conclude my thoughts on You’re Not Dead I would say if you adore dark stories with themes of hope then you will adore this. It truly is special and unique and I implore all you lovely readers to read it! This beautiful novel gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I appreciate it so much. Please do comment below your thoughts and whether you could see yourself reading this novel. Do you adore harrowing but uplifting novels? Let me know below! Thank you so much again for reading!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

Amazon USA

Author Facebook

Author Website

3 thoughts on “You’re Not Dead, Jason Garden

  1. How smooth of a read was this? I know some books, the good ones that hit ya in the feels, can be harder to read and take longer to get through. How would you rate this book on that issue?

    Like

Leave a Reply

