City of Bones, Cassandra Clare

9781406307627.jpg

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? 

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know… 

The City of Bones is a novel I pondered reading for a long time. I was hesitant to read it because of the hype and hesitant to read it in case it did not live up to my expectations. Upon finishing this novel I have to tell all of you lovely readers that I LOVED this novel; it exceeded my expectations and was definitely worth the hype! I am now proud to say that I am one of the many legions of fans of Cassandra Clare and am in awe of the beautiful world she has created, I am so happy to finally be a fan of this book and become a proud Shadowhunter! I am sure the majority of you lovely readers know all about this book and its series but in case you don’t then here is a brief synopsis of mine!

City of Bones tells the tale of an ordinary teenage girl named Clary Fray (can we first just appreciate how beautiful this name is?!) who suddenly has a Sight to see things that others cannot. She has been blessed (or cursed) to see Demons, Vampires, Werewolves, Warlocks and many more demonic creatures. This was all thrown upon Clary and she was dragged into a world that she could never have ever thought existed and then gradually as a reader you realise that she plays a huge part in this mad but beautiful world. When her mother is attacked and goes missing Clary is left with vengeance and confusion so Clary is now determined to find out the secret past that was hidden from her for so many years and to rescue those she loves from the hands of evil.

Our novel begins with our fifteen-year-old protagonist Clary Fray as she goes to the Pendemonium Club with her best friend, Simon Lewis. Inside the club she sees a blue haired boy and a black haired girl sneak into a storeroom, pursued by two other boys; one armed with what appears to be a knife. She soon sends Simon for help but she cannot wait so she follows the group into the storeroom – which is very risky behaviour Clary! Sorry, my mum side is coming out! – where she witnesses the blue haired ‘boy’ being killed and then she witnesses him vanish from the room. She is told by the people in that room that demons “return to their home dimensions when they die”. Simon then enters the storeroom with the bouncer in tow and questions why she is there alone; and realising no one else can see the others, she mumbles an apology feeling very confused and shook up.

When Clary returns home she does so to the scolding of her mother Jocelyn because of Clarys actions and her staying out so late. I personally am with Jocelyn on this one! It is dangerous and unacceptable and if that was my daughter I would be furious. Anyway! The next day Jocelyn announces that they are moving from New York City to the country for the summer where Jocelyn’s best friend, Luke, has a home. Clary is of course upset by the unexpected move and confides in Simon that she knows almost nothing about her mother or her entire family. Soon Simon and Clary – who by the way have an excellent friendship – go to a poetry reading where Clary sees Jace; one of the boys she saw in the club. After she calms down after seeing him he then privately tells her all about demon-hunters called Shadowhunters or Nephilim and claims that Clary is not a mundane (ordinary human). Their conversation soon gets interrupted by a call from Jocelyn who frantically in a panic warns her not to come home and to tell Luke that ‘he‘ has found her and then the call ends abruptly and she cant get hold of her again. Clary rushes home despite her mothers wishes and find her home in disarray with her mother gone. She is then attacked by another demon which she kills with Jace’s sensor (which is basically his knife!) as he followed her and feels the need to protect her. He whisks her off to the ‘Institute’: The local headquarters of Shadowhunters where she is introduced to numerous different Shadowhunters and it is already so fascinating at this point how the novel unfolds.

I think I should stop my synopsis here because I am getting way too carried away. See! This is what this novel does to you, it takes over your thought processes and all you can do is surrender to its beauty. What I can tell you though that the rest of the novel focuses on Clary discovering herself, a relationship, the finding of her mother and the mysterious Mortal Cup which people, good and bad so desperately want.

Personally I do not read much Young Adult, why? I do not know but what I do know now

is that I need to read more of it because if this is what these novels are like I am missing out! I think what puts me off them a little is that they all seem to have irritating love triangles or so this is what I have heard from a lot of lovers of YA. To be honest love triangles infuriate the hell out of me! I always find myself screaming at the girl “choose one!” because I believe it is not possible to love two people simultaneously. You can adore one but you cannot love two and if you truly loved someone then you would not be thinking about another man in the first place! I guess writers do this though because it can be considered as a great plot device for readers as they have something to root for! I really am finding myself loving the thought of reading YA more though because they seem to make a really lovely, light, enjoyable read so if you have any recommendations please comment below!

I read City of Bones at a perfect time. My last few reads have been very heavy, such as The Girl With the Dragon TattooGone GirlRoom and Swimming Lessons and I have to say it was wildly enjoyable for me to read a book which was fun, light and enjoyable! Heavy reads take a toll on me if I read too many because of the shock I have experienced from reading them so reading a novel which is high-fantasy and a wildly fun novel was great for me!

It has been a long time since I have read a fantasy novel and I have to admit that I have missed the genre dearly! I absolutely loved being in this magical world full of magical creatures and magical people and lets not forget awesome, bad-ass Shadowhunters! It was incredible to me and my mind was in pure reader heaven visualising all of the things our author had so wonderfully described.

Cassandra Clare’s writing was magnificent and captivating. I was surprised how well written this novel was for YA because the YA novels I have read have personally been of a childish, simple narrative but this was the opposite and if it didn’t have a young theme it could easily have passed for an adult book. The writing was intelligent and savvy with extraordinary action sequences which kept me on the edge of my seat so thank you Cassandra Clare for writing such an incredible novel!

I cannot possibly write about this novel without writing about the brilliantly created, diverse set of characters. The characters in this book were very ambitious but this is great in my opinion because the story is ambitious. I loved how Cassandra Clare took a few risks with her characters and plot because it shows that she is not afraid to test the boundaries of the Young Adult world. Every character in this spell-binding novel had something unique and special about them and this is so unique to come across these days. Normally in novels a lot of characters fall short but I can honestly say that every character is amazing!

I found our protagonist Clary to be a very sweet girl but she packs a punch and I adore that about her. There was times in this novel that I was shocked by her quick tempered, fiery attitude and found myself applauding her for her fierceness. It was delightful to read a novel with a strong female protagonist, plus, she is a red head like me so how can I not love her!

Our other main character Jace was a delight and I was surprised by this! I had heard many things about him before reading this novel and heard that the Mortal Instruments fandom were obsessed so I did, to my shame dread reading about him. I thought that he was going to be a jerk in all honesty but instead he was a very fun character who brought some much needed humour to the novel. Plus Jace and Simon were the perfect comedy duo and I laughed so much reading about them and their squabbles. This next paragraph contains a spoiler so you have been warned fellow book lovers! Spoiler.

When we found out that Jace and Clary were brother and sister I was shocked and a little taken a back why the author ever included this. I fell sorry for them because they loved each other before they found out the news so I am just very shocked that Clare even included this considering this book is Young Adult and 13 year-old’s read it. I have heard that this whole situation is sorted out as the novels progress but still this is pretty shocking no?! What do you think of this? Let me know in the comments below! Spoiler Free

The City of Bones is an enchanting fantasy novel which is full of action, adventure and hints of humour. The imagery in this book is quite simply stunning and as you read the descriptions of this mind bending world your brain will visualise every part because the writing is so beautiful that your mind cant help you but go into overdrive. I adored every part of this novel, the story, the plot, the world, the characters, everything! If you have a taste for Fantasy then I would recommend this book massively because it is brilliant! This wonderful book gets Four Stars from me.

As always thank you so much for reading book lovers! Comment below all those wonderful thoughts of yours and let me know whether you have read the novel or if you would like to! Also, for the people who have read the novel could you please tell me whether it is worth continuing the series? I have heard that it is not so great from this point onward’s so please let me know fellow book lovers!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a link for you to read the first chapter of the novel! If you like what you read then click the buy me tab and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then the link underneath will take you to Book Depository! Please read the first chapter though as this book is insanely good!

Book Depository

Publisher; Walker 

Update* I felt a quick need to talk about the movie adaptation of this novel so that is exactly what I am going to do! In my opinion the movie does not live up to the novel. I adored the casting but I felt like they changed too much. I know they do this from time to time but when you love a novel so much it is disappointing. These are just my quick thoughts on the movie but please do comment below what you thought of the movie if you have seen it! Thank you so much for reading!

443 thoughts on “City of Bones, Cassandra Clare

  1. Two things: I’m in my 30’s and I’ve been reading a lot of YA lately. I agree that some of it is predictable and same-y, but there is good stuff out there, and don’t let anyone make you feel like you’re too old for it. You’re not.

    And the other: OH MY GOD I HATE LOVE TRIANGLES TO DEATH and you’re right that they’re terribly overused and frustrating, especially in YA.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. I totally agree with you now! I used to read it all the time, however since having a baby I feel that people judge me because of it! Say for instance I will be in the book store with my baby boy, and I buy YA I get a look from the woman as if to say “are you really going to read this” but do you know what, I don’t care no more! I am starting to love YA again and they aren’t all badly written, some of them make great reads such as city of bones! Also I am a sucker for the hunger games trilogy! And thank god someone agrees with me! Love triangles are so overused, even in adult books! They irritate the hell out of me. I have to tell you that this comment really made me smile. Thank you so much for commenting I appreciate it so much!

      Like

  2. It’s been a while since I last read this series, but I do remember being so in love with the first book too. Some of the books in this series have left a bad taste in my mouth which is why I am holding off finishing the last book. Everyone says it’s good though.

    Anyways, the movie wasn’t too good. But the TV series looks so promising. I’m putting up a blog post shortly about it. Hehe. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh really? Are some of the books not up to a high standard? I have to say I am looking forward to starting the series just because I love the whole premise of this story. Also I kind of know how you feel about reading the last book! It is always horrible finishing a series because there won’t be any more books. It can either end good or bad and that is a scary thought! And really! I had no idea they were doing that. I will have to read all about it in your upcoming blog post (; I look forward to it!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I liked this series. But I wish it ended on book 3. It should have ended there. Book four was my least favorite. But book 5 was okay. And like you said, its scary reading the last book in a series you like. I guess it’s why I haven’t read the last one yet. But I highly recommend this series. And.. While you’re at it. Read the prequel. 🙂 Infernal Devices is the Shadowhunter series I liked more. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “ What I dislike about them the most are the love triangles. They are extremely, boring, tedious and in turn repetitive.” That’s why I steer clear of YA.
    I agree wholeheartedly:
    “However, after many awesome conversations about the origins of Demons and the shadow hunters, the thrilling and perfectly executed action sequences and humor,the book unfortunately went stale. The plot became so weak and zestless that I struggled to continue reading.”
    Her other books suffer from the same issues—pacing, great beginning but a slow decline into weaker and weaker plots. In her prequel series, the characters start out interesting and then Clare rips away layers revealing character traits that just don’t live up to their original promise. Characters become ineffective, boorish and obsessed with uninteresting things that have nothing to do with the plot, which has by that point flat lined. I found the end tedious to read because her plot twist at the end appears so often in YA. I had already guessed it 2/3 of the way in and had been hoping I would be wrong. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is such a great comment thank you so much for writing this! Also I am sorry I took forever to reply but I just this moment found it in my spam and I don’t know why! I really appreciate you saying all of these things because it is really making me consider whether I want to continue with the series or not! Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think YA can be read by anyone and you should not worry about what other’s would think if you enjoy it! I love YA and I am not ashamed to admit it :p I have always wanted to read this series but worry about starting it and not enjoying it as much as everyone else. Think I will give it a miss for now though..

    Nihaad – the little blog of STUFF

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right I need to get over it! YA is great and I used to read so much of it when I was younger but I slowly drifted from it as I ‘grew up’ but I am finding that I am starting to love it again. Thank you so much for commenting! (:

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree! I read fiction because it is a form of escape. Non fiction rarely affords me this pleasure so I understand exactly what you mean! And thank you so much you are too sweet! I love your blog and check it daily to see if you have posted!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Reading YA at any age is great 😉 I am almost 30 and I looooove young adult books. But I agree about the love triangles. So annoying!

    I haven’t read Cassandra Clare’s books but I keep meaning to pick this one up. I have so many books to read with very little time to do it. Oh wells. One day!

    Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I need to get over my fears and realise that it is ok! And yes! The love triangles are VERY annoying. And I know your pain! I have sooo many books but only little time. Especially with a new born and another baby on the way!! Just as you said though one day! And thank you so much!!!

      Like

  6. I actually love The Mortal Instruments series – so much that Ive read it three times! I agree, the first book is extremely slow paced and sometimes does leave you bored BUT, the next 5 books will leave your in a pool of emotions. I cannot express to you enough how much I love these books, and I hope you eventually feel this way too!
    P.s: I read your above comments and noticed someone mentioned The Infernal Devices. Again, I adore these book as well! They’re a (kind of) prequel to The Mortal Instruments and are just as perfect!

    I hope you enjoy the rest of the series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for commenting! I am hearing so many mixed reviews on TMI series and whether I should continue to read it or not but your comment makes me really want to read it! Same with the infernal devices! Thank you so much for the lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, I’m forty six in three days and have read a lot of YA and have written some too. Some of it’s excellent, though some, I agree, is slushy and repetitive.
    I’m glad you mentioned the Hunger Games, because the books deal with individual responses to a totalitarian state – and there’s nothing juvenile about that. I also think Patrick Ness is fantastic (The Chaos Walking series) and Malorie Blackman (Nought and Crosses) too. There are so many YA authors who deal with very serious issues.
    I haven’t read any Cassandra Clare books yet – they sound interesting though. Thanks for the great review

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey I’m 22 and I still read a lot of YA. I doubt age is a factor towards it! But I have to admit there are few YAs I actually love. And yeah I hate the love triangle part, it’s so boring.
    THe City of BOnes was actually a book that actually had me surprised. It had a cool female protagonist, unlike many other weirdo ones in other series. And it was cool. I mean I had never expected that twist !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree there are some YA series I love such as the hunger games (which doesn’t even seem ya to me!) however some ya I have read has been very bad so I think I just need to find a really good ya series. And yes! Love triangles are beyond annoying. Clary is really amazing and I am so happy you agree!

      Like

  9. I did not find this book that good and I am ashamed to say as a reader it was because of the film. I watched the film years ago and thought it was terrible, and I went into the book with that same dread, it took me a good 60 % of the book to start seeing the differences and actually imagining the characters as they were described in the book, not how they looked at the film.
    I agree with you on the YA things, I would love to see a YA without a whiny protagonist or a love Triangle. If you haven’t read it Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout is quite good for this.

    I really liked reading this review and I shall check of some of your other ones when I have the time

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww this is such an amazing in depth comment! Thank you so much for posting this! I myself haven’t seen the film but I don’t know if I want to now! Lol. Would you recommend it? And yes! It would be nice to read a YA novel without a whiny protagonist and a love triangle. I have heard of obsidian so I may check it out! Seeing you have recommended it ! Thank you so much for commenting!!

      Like

  10. I enjoyed reading your review! I personally find YA more entertaining than most “adult” fiction (but you are right about all the love triangles) because where else am I going to read a book about a ninja-warrior teenage girl who has to stop the world from the apocalypse caused by an alien race (or things along those lines). I loved the Mortal Instruments series as well and I really hope that The Dark Artifices hold up to the same standard!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks for visiting and following my blog 🙂
    I agree with pretty much everything you said here, my memory of this book was that I sped read a bunch of the middle, but when I finished it I was straight off to get the next one hahaha. Like you I started reading the series back before they took off. Her writing does get better the more books she writes which is good. There are some interesting plot twists and re-twists (as I like to call them) in the rest of the series. I really liked the prequels as well and am looking forward to the sequel/spin-off series due to start I believe later this year.
    I wouldn’t be too worried about reading YA, for starters I do and I am older than you so it must be okay 🙂 Secondly the library classification of a YA resource is I believe 15-25 so you are definitely covered 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so great! I love it when fellow book lovers write almost a mini review! So thank you so much fellow book lover (: I again agree with EVEYTHING you said regarding the plot etc. I am still debating whether to continue with the series or not!? And I no longer have a fear of reading YA thanks to you! (: thanks again! (:

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problems, glad I could help 🙂
        As for the rest of the series I should warn you that there is at times return of weird triangle stuff with different characters. Magnus Bane ends up being one of my faves in the series though. I did like that peripheral characters in the first book are given much more depth as the series goes on.
        Enjoy your YA 🙂

        Like

  12. Loved this review! ❤ It's interesting to read a review of someone who didn't absolutely love the book. And I agree with you that "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" is a heavy read. I felt so drained after reading it. I tried to start "The Girl Who Played with Fire" but just couldn't 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m 24 and a wife and I read YA all the time 😛 I totally agree about love triangles, though. I really dislike them haha! This is a great review! I’ve never read this series and you’ve convinced me to give it a shot. I look forward to reading many more of your reviews 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so amazing that you are a wife also! I don’t know if it is just me, but being a wife is literally the best feeling in the world. And it is so nice to meet a fellow young wife and book lover. I am 21 and a wife and mother (: . But yes! Love triangles annoy the hell out of me, I get so frustrated and want them to pick somebody! And you should! It was good. I want to continue with the series so that will be fun (: and thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Totally! It is such an amazing feeling to find the perfect person!! I completely agree that it’s nice to meet another young wife who shares a love of books! 😀 I do, too! Like when you love someone you know it, you don’t need to debate between different dudes 😛 I will read it pronto and you are very welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This is what I say! Either you love the guy or you don’t. I use because we found true love we know the feeling! When you know you know and that is why I get so annoyed at these girls in novels who are so indecisive! This may seem like a personal question but how long have you been married? (:

        Like

  14. I own every book in that collection. I absolutely LOVE them. Some people have issues with the pacing, but I didn’t mind. I was so invested in this story, it didn’t bother me one bit. I am in my mid-thirties, married for 13 years and have 3 children. I won’t let that stop me from regularly reading YA books! Age is just a number. Read what you enjoy and don’t think twice about it. Life is too short!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this lovely comment! You have made me want to read the rest of the series now! I am going to work on this ASAP! I love how you are a wife and mother! So am I, I have been married for nearly 5 years now (I got married when I was 17!) and have two children and another on the way. I adore that you have been married for 13 years this is incredible! I know it is random me saying all of this but I truly love when I meet fellow book lovers who are also mothers and wife’s! Marriage is the best thing ever!

      Like

  15. This is such a great review 🙂 I read City of Bones so long ago, and I remember loving it too. I’m a huge fan of YA, although sometimes it can get a bit annoying – I prefer it when they are almost NA or the protagonist is 17 years +… And I’m 23! Haha, although I still feel 12! 😀 This was the first time I’ve stumbled across your blog, it’s lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much! This is so kind of you it means so much to me (: I am so happy you loved the city of bones just as much as I did! But I do agree with you that sometimes YA can get VERY annoying. I just hate when they are cliche and there is nothing unique about them. Because most of the time you can’t tell a ya book apart from the rest!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Loved reading this book, though I don’t think the film did City of Bones justice! If you loved this, then The Shadowhunter Codex would be another good read – they’re some of my favourite books and are well worth a read! I’d love to know what you think, RedHeadedBookLover!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo… I am going to check his out now! I am going to watch the movie soon as I have still haven’t gotten round too it but I am not expecting much because fellow book lovers – like you! have all said it is not that great! Thank you so much for commenting!! (:

      Like

  17. I hated the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare and didn’t want to pick up any of her books. I guess she does have a problem with pacing and characterization.

    I didn’t want to read City of Bones because of my earlier bad experience with the author and the Jace hype. Reading your post, I’m inspired to pick up this book.

    And you’re never too old to read YA.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh really? Maybe I shouldn’t pick up the infernal devices! Although city of bones had MANY issues, I felt that it made up for it with the storyline almost. I loved everything to do with the folk tales and demons and that is what was really awesome too me! (:

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I have to admit that I probably won’t enjoy City of Bones as much as I did when I first read it either. But Cassandra Clare will always remain as one of my favorite, go-to ya authors. However, I have noticed she’s a hit or miss for most readers, which is understandable. I can see the arguments from both sides. Anyway, wonderful in-depth review! I definitely shared a lot similar thoughts to you, especially on the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Whew that as intense. I only had tie to sit down and really type a proper comment on this review. First of all I soooo agree with love triangles. I mean come on, how can too many ladies be so indecisive and coy? You can’t have two! Plus I think they over-complicate which might work if the only purpose of the author is to extend the novel. I’m in the same boat with YA. I have only started dabbling into it, and while doing my research I saw how this was super hyped up. Like it has a cult following or something! My last reads where Prince Lestat by Anne Rice and The White Queen by Philippa Gregory so I get the ‘heavy’ reads. Honestly I prefer reading these kind of books but I can see why YA is so popular nowadays. I was wanting to get this book too but the bookstore I went to just ran out of stock. Reading this has regained my interest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is such an incredible comment! Thank you so much for taking the time for reading my post but also commenting! You are awesome, I adore you. But yes! Love triangles bore me. I find it frustrating when the girl toys between the two boys, it frustrates me, all I can think is “just pick one already!” So thank god somebody agrees with me on this front. The mortal instruments has a huge cult following just like you said and that is one of the main reasons I read this book, but although I do not mind the occasional ya novel I do love my heavy reads just like you because the writing is always so much better but also there is more depth and more of a storyline! Thanks again for commenting!! (:

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gosh I so agree with you on the writing of heavier reads! I just marvel at how eloquent and rich the descriptions are. I find myself having a more vivid picture of how things are when I read them! You write really well and I feel like we have things in common when it comes to books 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You worded that perfectly, yes! I love how ‘eloquent’ and ‘rich’ the descriptions are. I find myself reading them over and over again, psyching myself up for the actual novel! And yes! More detail for your mind to work with. Your imagination goes into over drive and it is such an amazing feeling. And we do ! You’re like my soul book sister or something. Don’t be a stranger !

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I am 😛 may i ask you a question ? you say you are 21 . and am 20 yrs old . not much of difference and correct me if i am wrong aint 17-24/25 is called the young adult age ? I know interests differ but YA section is my fav 😛

        Like

  20. I still need to read City of Bones. I really want to read it, but I just can’t seem to bring myself to do it. One of the reasons is the romance, I try to avoid YA novels with romance in them. I’m too old to find it thrilling and romantic, I’m 27, and most of the time I find myself rolling my eyes. I wish I could have read this series when I was a teenager, I probably would have loved it then. That being said, I’ll definitely read it eventually, hopefully sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand completely what you mean, with everything you just wrote. I am exactly the same, I mostly avoid ya novels because they are usually cliche and have the horrible love triangles. However, although this book does have a romance aspect to it, I believe there was more which took away from that. In other words the romance was not thrust in your face every two minutes! There were other things happening, exciting things and this is what kept me reading. Thank you so much for commenting though you seem so lovely! I would definitely recommend checking it out, it will be worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Freda! Thanks so much for reading but also liking my review! And yes, you are right ! I do secretly love this book just because of the pure genius behind it, and this is of course because of the author and her writing. I think I actually need to read more YA, do you recommend any specific YA novels or series!? Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  21. I feel the exact same way about love triangles- it really makes my blood boil that we’re supposed to like and sympathise with two-timing, selfish characters- grrr! Yeah, I agree that this book doesn’t have a love triangle. Don’t be ashamed of reading YA- I’m too old for it too (and my bosses looked at me like I was insane when I admitted to reading it the other day)- but I don’t care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! It literally makes my blood boil too! No way am I EVER going to sympathise with a girl who two times two guys and who can’t make their mind up! It frustrates me so much!! I understand why some writers write a love triangle because it could be considered ‘entertaining’ but in my opinion, it just pisses me off beyond belief! Lol. And the more I am hearing of people to not be ashamed about ya, the more I am starting to believe it! Thanks so much for commenting! What are you reading at the moment!? (:

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes exactly!!! How is it entertaining anyway? It’s a minor plot device at best and I hate the idea of it being central to any story. It makes no sense to me when there are stories out there where the world is at stake, but all we’re supposed to care about is whether some indecisive, selfish girl will just *choose* one guy over the other!! I mean, love triangles are bad enough- but c’mon, that’s ridiculous! Why do authors even do that?
        Good!! It’s a great genre, because (I find) authors can be so much more inventive and willing to try something different. (Obviously it has its problems, but so do so many other genres, but when it’s done well, it’s excellent)
        You’re welcome. I’ve finally got round to reading North and South cos I found my old copy and was halfway through it at uni, but somehow never finished! What are you reading? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know!! It is never ever entertaining to me. Never! I never feel sorry for the narrator, when they are constantly like “who do I choose? This is so hard!” And I am just screaming saying, it is not hard! You can’t love two people at the same time. So I don’t feel sorry for them at all. The girls are just irritating to me! And I am so glad a fellow book lover has the same views as me. Thank God! Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly! Especially cos it’s always clear which one they prefer! So why are they messing the other one about? If they were real, everyone would just think they were terrible people. One day I’d like to see the girl get dumped by both guys.
        Yes, me too! Glad to know I’m not the only one!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Now that’s a book I would enjoy reading!! I’d quite like it if the two guys kind of collabed and dumped her together. I can picture the conversation:
        Girl: “Oh my goodness, what are you two doing here… together?”
        Boy 1: “Well, we’ve decided…”
        Boy 2: “… that you’re a two timing cow…”
        Boy 1: “… so we’re dumping you…”
        Boy 2: “See ya never!”
        And there you have it- *bam!* – double dumping!! (Clearly I’ve thought this out a little too much)

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hahaha! This is the best thing I have read all day and you have put a huge smile on my face! You’re awesome! Write the book, and I promise I will buy it lol. Do you have Twitter by any chance? You’re too cool I need to stalk you more lol

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I have and I love it! So I need to check this out, thanks so much for the recommendation! I am reading the miniaturist right now and it is so incredible! I have a huge thing for historical fiction at the moment and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

        Liked by 1 person

  22. A friend of mine is reading the Mortal Instruments series and wants me to start reading so we can have something new to talk about. After your review, I believe I have no reason to not get started! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww this makes me so happy! I always do this with my friends too! I constantly tell them to read book series so I can talk with them about it. I am so happy however that you are going to start reading the series because it is more than worth it! (:

      Liked by 1 person

  23. I loved this series but I did prefer the prequel, The Infernal Devices . Have you seen the new TV show that’s coming out? I still haven’t decided if I will watch it or not because I tend to imagine the characters one way and get attached (I don’t want the show to ruin what’s already in my head ;).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is The Infernal Devices good?! I have been debating whether to start reading it or not now that I have finished The Mortal Instrument’s series! And I saw it on Netflix but I too am debating whether to watch it. And trust me, I know exactly what you mean ! Sometimes the books are just too good and when a show or movie changes it, it breaks your heart!

      Like

      1. I’m actually reading Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity series at the moment but I’m almost finished. I also just recently downloaded another Maya Banks series (through a Kobo sale) so I’ll let me you know. What kind of books do you enjoy? YA? I do like Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum Series (I believe that made a movie out of the first one, One For the Money). I believe there is twenty-three now in that series. Let me know what your preferences are because I have read a lot of books across a lot of genre’s 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Is the series good so far? And yes! That would be great. You should write a review on it! (:
        And I will read anything me. I used to read YA tons (Divergent, Maze Runner, John Green all of that) but then I kept having children and so I felt like I had to grow up a little! Lol. But really now I read a lot of historical fiction, fantasy, but then I also read non fiction! So really anything!

        Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment and kind words! Can I ask how come you never finished City of Bones? I have actually recently finished the series and as a whole I really enjoyed it. The books are filled with great amazing moments, but I do admit myself that the pacing of the books can be a little issue so I can understand if you did not finish it for this reason! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This post of yours is amazing! I loved your description of Jace by the way that really made me laugh. I do understand where you are coming from though. I found in the beginning clary to be very annoying but as I read the rest of the series I found more and more aspects in her that I liked. As for Jace I thought he was an idiot too but I actually ended up loving him the most at the end of the series! It’s funny how authors can change your mind on things. Have you seen the movie? If not I would recommend that you watch that and then read the second book in the series as I found the second to be much better. Maybe that way you can get past the not finishing phase of the first book and continue with the rest of the series as you may find the second more enjoyable? Just a thought!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll surely post a review. 😉

        The movie, hmm.. I was like, why her? I thought she’s supposed to be 15? – actress portraying Clary

        That is so not Jace. – actor portraying Jace

        They totally got Simon. Lol.

        It was okay, I guess. Fine. 👍

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I read many genres, but I have no patience for YA at the moment. I am more of a mystery reader. James Patterson is my favorite author.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, but if you want to follow the saga of Alex Cross and his lovable crazy family, then you’ll have to start with Along Came a Spider.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha! This is too true. However, if I read the book, I won’t watch the movie and if I watch the movie I won’t read the book. I made an exception for The Help. I read it, loved it, thought they should make a movie, they made one, I watched it, I liked it. As for Jack Reacher, I tried reading it way before they said TC was JR, but I couldn’t get into it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I think it was worth a read, but I don’t like doing recommendations. I’ll tell you to read it if you ever come across it, but don’t go looking for it.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Personally I read Lee Child when I want a fun quick read, I don’t jump out of my seat to run to the book store when another one of his books come out however, its the stories which I love. If one book features on a story which I adore then I will love it! Otherwise I will just find it a little boring. But that is the same with every book!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. It’s the same thing I do with James Patterson (although I am guilty of running to the store whenever there is a new Alex Cross book!)

        Liked by 1 person

      7. This is where I drew the line. When they said there was an Alex Cross movie with Tyler Perry in it, I automatically decide to skip it because Tyler does not embody Cross. I’m glad I didn’t watch it now.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Its funny though because Tom Cruise is the complete opposite of Jack Reacher in the novel. He is described by Child as 6ft Tall, Broad and Blonde whereas Tom Cruise is known for being short and darked hair, but I did enjoy the movie!

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Yes! And this is why I love TC. The man can take any role and morph into the character just as he did with Lestat or Stacee Jaxx. 😛 I must say that I am enjoying our chats! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Exactly! If I remember correctly I don’t think Rock of Ages done that well at the Box Office however I loved it and I loved him as Stacee Jaxx! So am I! I hope I am not boring you lol, its just nice to talk with somebody will similar interests!

        Liked by 1 person

      11. No, it flopped big time at the box office, but TC as supporting actor stole the show. I remember people who were not fans of his before left the movie all in awe of his Stacee Jaxx performance. No, you’re not boring me at all for I am certain you can tell that I love TC as much as I love books. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Haha so funny! And that is so true, they always try and show the new upcoming ‘perfect’ actresses and actors who are actually in reality, awful and cannot act. What movies need are GOOD actors! Maybe Tom Cruise should star in every movie lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      13. I second this! I remember thinking that they should clone TC just to have him in every movie when I first saw him in Rain Man. And I admire him for the fact that he loves his fans. He shows up an hour or two early at premiers just to sign autographs and take pictures with them. He’s a cool cat.

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Yes! I love this about him too! You can tell that some actors just pretend to love his fans to get good publicity and to be loved by the public however you just know in your heart that this is not the case with him. I really admire him for this!

        Liked by 1 person

      15. He’s a Southern gentleman. LoL! I’ve come across a fan’s account of how he waited in the rain at the Oblivion premiere for Tom to sign some pics. The bodyguards told the man that Tom will sign just one, but Tom waved it off and signed all 5 pictures for the man. Little things like this makes me smile because we tend to forget that these celebrities are humans just like us. Reason why I don’t idolize them.

        Liked by 1 person

      16. He truly is and that is one of the many things I love about him! And did he really? Oh my gosh that is so lovely. See some actors dont even sign things! We are the people who basically pay for their lavish lifestyle and who watch their movies so actors should be grateful and I am so happy Tom Cruise is a good one!

        Liked by 1 person

      17. Yes, he really did and I thought it was nice. He’s mostly nice to the extras on his set besides his colleagues. Mannerism is something I’ve always admired and he’s full of manners and class.

        Liked by 1 person

      18. Let me just put it this way: Tom Cruise is yet to disappoint me with any movie of his. If I have to pick my top 4 faves right now it’ll be Knight & Day; MI: Ghost Protocol; Vanilla Sky and Jack Reacher Never Go Back.

        Liked by 1 person

      19. The Mission Impossible movies are my favourite! I have watched all of them since I was very young. I also love Eyes Wide Shut with him and Nicole Kidman and we all Oblivion recently. Oh! and Edge of Tomorrow. Those are the ones I really love!

        Liked by 1 person

      20. Oh yes! I love love LOVED the heck out of Oblivion and Edge of Tomorrow! They brought back pleasant memories of War of the Worlds and Minority Report. I confess that I haven’t watched the entirety of Eyes Wide Shut because I cannot take Kidman seriously. But I liked her alongside him in Far & Away. I’ll try to watch the entirety of EWS one day.

        Liked by 1 person

      21. Haha! Yes, Doug Liman (the director) had referred to it as a ‘sequel that’s a prequel’. This movie was wonderful because TC was not afraid to portray a coward and let a woman be the strong leader as it was the case in Rogue Nation.

        Liked by 1 person

      22. I read this one when I was around tenish or so. I can’t remember, perhaps younger, but I remember liking HG Wells. However, reading for me started with the Bible and my favorite French author Alexandre Dumas.

        Liked by 1 person

      23. No, don’t be hard on yourself. I mean, in all fairness, Alexandre Dumas is not a likely name that would randomly pop up when someone mention the classics.

        Liked by 1 person

      24. I’ll get to it soon. I wasn’t even paying attention the first few times I attempted to watch because I was just too content to watch Dr. Bill stroll around. Far and Away was good. I recently re-watched it and I still laughed at the parts I deemed funny back then.

        Liked by 1 person

      25. Of course! I might have to watch it when I go on vacation as this weekend I have much to catch up on. You’re going to laugh at their Irish accents though! It was cute and funny at the same time. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      26. That’s cool! Yes, there are some Irish people in there, but you’re going to laugh at TC’s and Kidman’s Irish accents. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      27. Over the moon! That reminds me, I was writing an article about it for the blog. I love that they’re going to Paris and India and New Zealand. Looking forward to The Mummy, but I am anticipating American Made the most because I think he crushes biopics. He does them so well.

        Liked by 1 person

      28. I know TC’s The Mummy is based on the very original from 1932 (?), but he’s going to get a lot of comparisons to Brendan Fraser. However, his look is a more serious one compared to the cheesy and goofball Fraser franchise.

        Liked by 1 person

      29. LoL! Yes. I also think it’s quite darker and this weekend, I’m looking forward to the second trailer which I would definitely post on the blog. I don’t know about the Pyramids, but given Egypt’s tourism right now, they can do for a boost.

        Liked by 1 person

      30. Trinidad, but because I am a Francophile, many people think I’m French. Not a bad thing when you think of it because most of my characters are French and redheaded. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      31. This is what I was trying to explain to an over hyped Hrithik Roshan fanboy about Bang Bang, a remake of Knight & Day. You cannot dodge comparisons if the movie is similar, a remake or a reboot.

        Liked by 1 person

      32. Thank you for reading. As long as I am still watching movies as long as TC is still making them, then you can count on my blog for updates.

        Liked by 1 person

      33. You guys are awesome! He is like the coolest actor around. I don’t get excited for other movies that easily, but as soon as they announce a TC movie, I’m all ears. ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I wont watch it then! I saw the trailer and didnt like the look of it. Plus I find it to be so annoying when a model gets really famous and then they move into acting. It just annoys me am I the only one that thinks this? lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think that is honestly why it didnt do so well at the box office because the people who primarily go and see those movies are the fans of the book and if you ruin and trash it then us fans will hate you for it you know?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Have you ever read the Divergent series? Those are one of my favourite YA series and the first movie I actually enjoyed, it was a little different but ok. However the second and third movies were just atrocious. They did not include anything from the book, the only thing which was similar is that the characters have the same names in the book! Such a disappointment. But the books are amazing! Rant over lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  24. Hello! It’s been a while since I read the book so your review really refreshed my memory. And I don’t think there is any shane in reading YA at your age because you are an adult, and still you’re young. I mean, you are just into adulthood which makes Young Adult a completely normal genre for you to read if we take its meaning literally.
    I really love the format of your reviews. The other reviews that I have read on various blogs are full of embellishments. There are even cliparts of the number of stars that the reviewers awarded the books. And then, most of the important pieces of information are typed in bold so that a reader won’t overlook them. It does make the reviews appealing to a majority of the readers but I am not one of them. I like to read anything in the format of a well crafted paragraph or a number of paragraphs, and I try to write in that way too. I find lists intimidating while paragraphs make me feel comfortable. Also, marking off most of the writing in bold does grab my attention but then I just skim through the post, reading only the lines signed off as important. And then it becomes a list of facts stated by the blogger, and nothing personal. What draws me to a blog is the blogger’s writing style even more than the content and if bold lettering isn’t used strategically and sparsely, I don’t read the posts thoroughly. Of course, I am not an established or well reputed blogger to criticise those reviews but I have read your post through and through even though I didn’t like the book, just because your review seemed personal.
    Yes, I must admit that the Mortal Instruments series hasn’t been a favourite with me even though I love fantasy. The major reason was the fact that Clary and Jace’s romance in the later books seems to dominate and drive the story forwards which shouldn’t have been the case since the books were categorised under the Fantasy genre. I know YA does dwell a lot on the idea of romance and love (and that’s the reason why I don’t read too many teenage novels) but I expected more elements of fantasy to lead the way. The books were enjoyable for as long as they lasted (and I loved Luke a lot) but I couldn’t bear any more Clary-and-Jace thing. So there was no motivation for me to go on after the third book, parly because of the above mentioned reasons and partly because of a long break I took after reading that book. So I am yet to complete the series but have no intention of doing so.
    That is not to say that you should agree to my arguments or stop reading further if it suits your taste. Keep reviewing especially if it’s fantasy you love because I would love to discover new books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your first point about reading YA is so true and I really did not think about it like that! YA is not just for readers who reach the age of 17 but rather for people through their 20’s and even 30’s. They might call it YA just because not many 40 year olds would typically read it! Thank you for enlightening my views on this. Now I want to read more YA! lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think we can read them as long as we consider ourselves young. Then it doesn’t matter if you reach fifty and are still reading it, does it?
        But I prefer reading children’s books because I want to be like Peter Pan.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha! That is so true I love that. I read those kind of children books too! It is my mission in life to read all the classics. With my two eldest children I make sure to read them books such as Alice in wonderland, Peter Pan and all those classic children stories!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wow! No one read books to me but I was told a lot of stories. I still read fairy tales and yes Alice in Wonderland too. I don’t know how old they are but do make them read Harry Potter and you should read it too. Anyway, Happy Reading!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Growing up I have always adored anything simplistic and my nature is very organised. That is why I tried and made my blog like this. I want my reviews to be simple and easy to read and for people to not have their eyes hurt by so much stuff going on. So I am so glad that you have said all of this, you have made my day ! (:

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Oh! And yes, I read too many reviews which are just facts but personally i love to make my reviews personal and include some information about my own life and why I loved the book etc. My goal is not to write reviews which are suitable for newspapers but rather write reviews which are easy for people to read and enjoyable. Reading is my passion and my goal of my reviews are to inspire people to read (:

      Liked by 1 person

    4. I agree with everything you said about City of Bones too, their relationship did frustrate me and these YA books in general do because of their love triangles. I picked up this book because I wanted fun, original fantasy but instead we got just a love story really and thats ok! But I just would have loved more fantasy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, there are so many people I know who are fans of the Mortal Instruments and who keep on prodding me to read on. So it seemed like a crime when I decided not to continue further. But it’s a good thing I didn’t buy them.

        Liked by 1 person

  25. Goodness, I relate so much to your hesitance when it came to reading this book. I felt the same way about it for so long! It was one of those overly popular books that everyone loved and I was so terrified it was going to end up overhyped. Ended up listening to most of the book on audible (finishing up with the physical copy) and loved it so much.

    Also, love triangles infuriate me. so much. I just don’t get why so many authors find them necessary when a lot of the time they just aren’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy that I am not the only person who was reluctant to read this novel! You understood exactly how I felt at the time. It is so terrifying reading a book which is so hyped up just in case it turns out to be awful.

      Like

      1. Just give me a slow burn romance or a book where the main character has the same love interest the whole story (unless that love interest sucks, then they can find a new person). I’ll even deal with instalove if it’s not overly cheesy or obnoxious.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I love books like that. When a book centers on one couple and goes through their relationship progression as the series progresses it just makes my heart so happy. On the other hand, books where there’s the constant flip flop between love interests and the main character doesn’t pick between one until either the very end or close to it irk me so much.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I have yet to find a book with a love triangle that I truly enjoy. Every once in a blue moon I might think that I’ve found one or gotten close to it but at the end of the day love triangles still irk me especially those insanely unnecessary ones. Ugh, they’re the worst lol

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Not yet, the Mortal Instruments series is one of the ones that I’ve made more progress through than some others but I still end up getting through series very slowly. I’m not exactly a binge reader and there are so many books that I want to get through that it’s just sort of hard to stick to any one thing and breeze through it. Hopefully, I’ll make more progress with the series soon though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I read the first book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas and wasn’t really a fan. I’ve also read the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer (except for the last book and novella) and ended up really loving them. I’ve also read the first two novels in the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and enjoyed them a lot. Outside of that though I tend to be very behind when it comes to what’s popular.

        Liked by 1 person

  26. I thought the movie did a good job casting Jace even if it kind of failed the book. It is a good book though. One of these days I’ll read the rest of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I first learned about this through the series on Netflix, didn’t really catch me as such but after reading this, I may consider picking up the book as the concept sounds pretty neat.

    Also, I’ve promised myself that I would try and read things I normally wouldn’t so this would be a great way to, not so much step out of my comfort zone, but at least lean heavily against the wall of it.

    Like

      1. Well wouldn’t really call them novels, don’t think he ever tried writing one actually ^^
        I do have a book of his collected works and though it’s hard to point to a favorite, The Outsider and Colour out of Space is certainly amongst them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

