Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel

cover (8).jpg

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unravelling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

I am in shock, this novel, this beautiful, incredible, thought provoking novel has me in wide-eyed wonder. This book is magnificent! Believe me when I say this because this now is one of my favourite reads of all time. Let me tell you more about the brilliant world of Sleeping Giants!

The plot of Sleeping Giants is a simple one. Pieces of a gigantic metal robot, thousands of years old which predate the human technology necessary to create them, have been discovered scattered across the globe in obscure places; buried deep in the earth and buried deep under the sea. The thoughts of people who have discovered these robots are – if humans did not make this giant robot, then who did? Already when you read this your mind is whizzing with questions. Who the hell put these robots there? Who made them? Why where they on earth in the first place? What is their purpose? So many great questions raced through my mind that I devoured this novel in just under two days, these questions made me compulsively read this novel -frantically in fact- to find out the questions and it was a hell of a ride!

The story of Sleeping Giants is told through a series of interviews with an anonymous interviewer (who appears to be pulling the strings behind the whole project) laced also with the occasional journal entry and news article. I have to say I really enjoyed this format as it is nothing like I have read before. Growing up I always adored reading books in journal form so to experience something which was moderately similar made this novel really enjoyable for me. The narrative is a delight to follow and makes you want to read and read until you have finished the book.

A lot of people in the book community have compared Sleeping Giants to The Martian however I beg to differ. Granted, The Martian and Sleeping Giants are both Science Fiction novels but that is it in my opinion. These two novels are separate entity’s. Unlike the Martian, Sleeping Giants isn’t propelled by a single characters narrative, but instead is wrote in a way that we get a look behind the scenes and a great insight into the people who are involved in this project. We get a look into the uncovering of body parts, finding out how they work and what exactly they do and finally we get insight into what this discovery means for the world knowing that ‘we are not alone’ and what this fact does to the sanity of humanity. What it means for the religious people of the world is also a major question asked within the novel. Is someone out there waiting for us, are they planning an attack? Is also another prominent question. This novel is shrouded in great mystery and will keep you asking and guessing questions until the very end. This is the best kind of writing and story telling in my opinion and I applaud Neuvel for his master piece of science fiction!

Sleeping Giants is a dark, frightening novel and unlike any of the other science fiction novels we have today… It feels different and uniquely special and very thought-provoking. You are constantly wanting to know what happens next,  and it makes for a thrilling ride. Sleeping Giants provides just the right amount of hard science, enough scientific and technical details to satisfy the inner geek in you, without ever overloading you with information. This book really inspired wonder in me, reading our main protagonist exploring trying to find the rest of these robots was delightful, you feel her determination and it is so inspiring!

To say Sleeping Giants was an addictive read is an understatement. I have four babies and trying to find the time to read is hard, however, I found it with this novel and finished it shy of two days because it was compelling! So brilliant and so engaging from the first page.

To summarise my thoughts on Sleeping Giants I would say that you would be mad not to read it, it is a engaging, quick, thrilling mystery and makes for a gripping reading experience; one I will not forget for a long time! You would truly not be disappointed reading this! The book gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I really do appreciate it. Please do comment below whether you have read this book or whether you could see yourself reading it. Also let me know whether you are a huge science fiction fan like me! Let me know also what you would do if these robots which predate human technology where ever discovered. Personally I would be excited! Scared and very weary but excited definitely. Thanks again for reading!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Book Depository link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

Book Depository 

Publisher; Penguin – Michael Joseph

P.P.S. I just got my hands on the sequel Waking Gods so I will be reviewing this next week! This is so exciting! Sleeping Giants is by far one of my favourite reads of 2017 so far!

 

 

 

87 thoughts on “Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel

      1. I’ll definitely buy a copy soon 😀 I never used to read much sci-fi honestly but after I read The Martian I decided to try and read more of it this year. It’s a great genre and there’s a lot to choose from! Do you have any recommendations? (and yep, you got my name right! haha x)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh and Beyond the Aquila Rift is great. It’s a collection of short stories by Alastair Reynolds who is a god of Sci-Fi so that book is really great if you want to just have a few short stories to read which are really fascinating (:

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And that’s it I think! Have a look at those books and let me know if any take your fancy (: and great! I love that name, that is my middle name and all of the women in my family have it, so traditional it’s beautiful (: x

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Fantastic, thank you so so much! Ah how could I forget, I read Dark Matter last year and it really messed with my mind, I loved it haha! The Book of Strange New Things is also on my TBR now that you mention it, it sounds really interesting, but the rest I will add and look up right away! Thanks so much! And yay awesome! Charlen is my middle name but I rarely use it online, it’s just easier to go by Ann lol. Most of my family just use Charlen, while most of my irl friends use both names XD

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Dark Matter was CRAZY, I was so mindblown! And terrified just thinking about all the endless possibilities! I loved it! I haven’t but I’ve added it to the list lol. Didn’t know there was a TV show though, might just check that out. Have you seen it?

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I have seen the TV series! I watched it and did not even realise it was a book until it said ‘based on the book’ etc. The show was really amazing and because you love Dark Matter and the writer in general then you would really love it I think. It is so messed up too, I was watching it and all I was thinking was “Surely this cant get any stranger but it did!” and I loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Charlen is lovely and even more traditional! I love it. I have always loved traditional names. For example my children are called Benjamin James, Betty Ann, Bligh James and Alik James. Although Alik is a twist on a Greek name. I adore mythology and am plucking up the courage to call my child Persephone one day or something lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Thank you! My mom wanted it to be Charlene but I’m since I’m from Norway no one realized the last -e was supposed to be silent and she didn’t like how that sounded so then it became Charlen lol. I love your children’s names, they’re so beautiful! I love the combinations. And WOW YES Persephone would be amazing haha omg ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Awww that’s so lovely ❤ I haven't been to England yet, which is a bit embarrassing lol. Where in America do you live? It's a while ago now but I've been twice, NYC both times though since my mom has friends who live there.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Our dream is to have a large house in the middle of nowhere with plenty of land so that is why we want to love there! I just had new born twins though so we have to wait at least a year to move (:

        Like

      11. I don’t read much mythology or books based on mythology, I think the last one was Kate Tempest’s poetry collection Hold Your Own. I don’t mind it, but I’m afraid Greek mythology has never been a particular interest of mine. I’m familiar with many of the myths though, I know the Persephone and Hades one 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the compliment on my blog! ^_^ I have just begin dipping my toes into the sci-fi genre this year actually. I started out with soft Sci-Fi though, like Illuminae and Gemina. I’m excited to kind of start branching out a bit though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sci-fi is a great genre. I went off it for a few years but now I am obsessed. I have so many great recommendations if you ever need any! I have read the first half of illuminae but I could not get into it!

        Like

      3. I read a bit of everything to be honest. I find that constantly switching into various genres helps me from falling into any reading slump. My mainstay is definitely Fantasy, YA or Adult fantasy. It’s the genre I always return to most frequently

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The plot definitely sounds intriguing, so I’ll be adding it to my Goodreads tbr list ASAP. I just hope it delivers on its promise because it seems to be quite a polarising book. Most of the reviewers I follow have rated it highly, but a significant minority were disappointed by it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

