Conall II: The Raven’s Flight, David H. Millar

Conall Mac Gabhann and his brooding queen, Morrigan, lead over two thousand warriors together with their followers across the narrow sea that separates Eriu from “Albu” (Britain). Their quest: the capture of Cassius Fabius Scaeva, the dissolute Roman patrician held responsible for the slaughter of their families.

The Eriu encounter human, natural, and supernatural foes and friends. At the mercy of the “aes sidhe,” a race of demi-goddesses who demand that he fulfill an ancient geisConall is named as the “Hand of the Goddess” and given the instrument that will crush the “Na Daoine Tursach“-a tribe of fanatical, blood-lusting priests.

They battle fierce northern tribes: the “Aos na Coille,” whose one-eyed king, Drostan Ruadh, opposes their presence as do the “Na Meadaidh” led by the sly Finnean Mac Seitheach. Not all are enemies. The “Aos an Fhithich” offer their support, although it too comes at a price.

Heroes and villains from myth, legend, and history converge in this saga set in the vast ancient forests, treacherous bogs, snow-capped mountains, and mysterious lochs of Scotland some four hundred years before the birth of Christ.”

David H. Millar is soon becoming one of my favourite historical fiction writers of all time. His novel Conall: The Place of Blood blew me away so I was so happy to discover this sequel to that novel! His sequel is just as brilliant and mind-blowing as the first and I am so happy I have discovered this series! Before I go ahead with my review I have to say that this will of course contain discussion about this book which may spoil the first but truthfully I am going to keep my review spoiler free but if you want to know nothing at all about the second book then read my review of Conall: The Place of Blood first and then come back here afterwards!

Our story once again focuses on the novels protagonist Conall Mac Gabhann and his quest to do what is right. Because this novel is a sequel I do not want to spoil the first book for anybody who has not read that and are wishing too so this is all I will say about this novel! Although, if you want to know a little bit more about the novel then read the synopsis above!

This tale is the same tale we saw in the first novel. It is a tale of honor and vengeance and the struggle of a particular group of people joining together to do what is best. It is an inspiring story which is full of heart. However! It is also an incredibly dark, vicious story full of epic action scenes and incredible amounts of violence and I have to admit I adored this. I loved how this novel portrayed the times in Ireland. It is a great insight into a time that is very different to ours now and I adored that.

Once again Millar has wrote an exceptional novel and his words all over again captured my heart and made me fall in love. I adored how he continued to build on the world he has already so excellently built. When I read the first novel I thought that it could not be built on anymore but Millar disproved this thought of mine by doing this exact thing! His novel continued to get better and better as I read it and for that I am incredibly impressed with his literary talent!

To conclude my thoughts on this outstanding novel I would say if you adore epic historical fiction novels that feature heavily on Irish heritage and history then you will adore this! This exceptional novel gets Four Stars from me!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

 

Amazon USA

Author Amazon

Author Goodreads

Author Facebook

Author Website

One thought on “Conall II: The Raven’s Flight, David H. Millar

  1. Just ordered the preview so I can check it out! At $6, I think I’ll verify I like it. But regardless, you wrote an awesome book review that caught my attention! Kudo’s to my favorite Ginger Book Reviewer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

