The Sword to Unite, Peter J Hopkins

It is an age of rebirth in the kingdoms of the north. Cedric, lord of Orford, a man plagued by dark dreams of omens, and the true heir of the long lost hero Adalgott, is thrown from his peaceful life and swept into a world of chaos. When a mysterious tome is stolen, Cedric sets out to avenge a fallen friend, and uncover the truth behind his visions. In the Kingdom of Lorine, Cedric learns of an ancient prophecy, and the return of Azrael, a wraith of corruption and decay. Cedric must find the blade, Geanlaecan, for only in its burning power can the dark tide of Azrael, the ancient enemy of man, be turned back. Cedric does not journey alone, lords, mercenaries, magi, and beasts of forests flock to the banner of the true king. In Midland, a kingdom to the north, Cedric meets with politicking lords, and the grizzled Vine King, ruler of Prav and master of Midland. Cedric must unite the squabbling lords of the north if there is to be any chance of survival.

The Sword to Unite is an enthralling, captivating, masterful fantasy novel that is in the best tradition of Tolkien; it is a novel that kept me hooked and intrigued from the very first page and no words can even begin to describe how much I loved this fantasy adventure! Here is a little bit more about this spellbinding medieval fantasy.

The Sword to Unite is a highly charged, exceptional fantasy novel that follows the adventure of a young man named Cedric. Cedric is the Lord of Orford and he rules his Kingdom exceptionally well with devotion. However recently Cedric has been plagued with horrendous, debilitating visions of doom, he soon realizes that he does not want these visions to happen to the Kingdom he loves so he soon sets out on an epic adventure and quest to save the Kingdom he loves dearly. Azrael is another key character within out novel but let’s just say he is not as lovable as Cedric! He is an ancient being who has fought throughout the centuries, even against the first kings of man and unluckily for Cedric and his Kingdom, he has returned. Legend predicts that only the heir of Adalgott, who was the first King of the north, can stop him. As our novel continues and we learn more as a reader we soon discover that Cedric is the heir. Cedric must claim his throne and the enchanted burning sword that has been passed down through his lineage. He must stop this evil darkness that is swooping over his Kingdom and save the realm from doom.

This was not a short synopsis but I could not help myself book lovers! This is what this book does to you, it is a novel that makes you wildly obsessed. You can’t help but fall in love with the incredible host of characters, the enthralling narrative and the gripping, wildly imaginative plot; It is a novel that has truly captivated me. Recently I read the first book in The Lord of the Rings series and although it was great, I do have to admit that I adored this book even more. Something about this novel felt different… more wholesome. Besides! The fact that this novel has a ton of Anglo-Saxon Mythology laced throughout it made me fall wildly in love with it! I also love the inspiration our author Hopkins took from the legend of King Arthur. I may be obsessed with Mythology, specifically Greek (Which I am sure many of you know by now!) but I still adore British Mythology and legends and King Arthur is one of my favourite legends of all time so I am so happy to read a great novel which has little hints of that story perfectly placed throughout this novel! I am detouring a little here but have any of you lovely readers seen the new movie King Arthur: Legend of the Sword? If you have then please do comment below and let me know your thoughts!

Throughout my review, I have expressed how I thought our author Hopkins wrote in the tradition of Tolkien and all those other wonderful fantasy writers and I will still say this because it is so true. Although their stories are different, the writing, pacing, and structure are not. They have both wrote enthralling stories, wonderful characters, dense fantasy plots and they can both write! Result! Seriously though Hopkins writing was incredibly impressive and it really did surprise me. His world building floored me. To be a fantasy writer you have to have talent, not many people, I know I certainly couldn’t! Could think of a world so dense as the world and story in a The Sword to Unite so for that Hopkins has impressed me and has caught my attention.

To conclude my review of The Sword to Unite I would say if you adore fantasy or want to explore the genre more than this book is definitely for you! It is a world full of imagination and it makes for such a visually stunning read… it is a world you will happily get lost in so I really do recommend that all of you lovely readers read this novel! This enchanting novel gets Four Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! I appreciate it so much. Please do comment below your thoughts on this novel and whether you could see yourself reading it. Do you adore fantasy as a genre or are you skeptical of it? Please do comment below all your wonderful thoughts and finally if you have read Tolkien’s work I would love to know what you think!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on Amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

 

Amazon USA

5 thoughts on “The Sword to Unite, Peter J Hopkins

Leave a Reply

