The Magpie King, M.J. Fahy

Tatty Moon must rid Little Upham of magpies, rampaging Gnomes, and the Queen’s ambitious nephew. Not easy when you’re only three-and-a-bit inches tall! Will anybody help? …Perhaps. 

The Magpie King is a book I would not usually read or even review however I am a mother and I always love to read what my children will read so I thought why not write a book review for this middle grade book I have read for my children! So that you lovely parents or even any of you who could see what book you would find acceptable for your children or friends children or nieces or nephews to read!

The Magpie King is an engaging story that is full of warmth and humour that will make children laugh out loud… I know mine did! It features everything that will stir a child’s imagination including elves, faeries, gnomes, animals, kings and queens and many more mystical things but do not worry this novel has humans in it too!

Our novel focuses on a fairy named Tatty Moon. She is the novels protagonist whose destiny is to be queen one day. Although this will not be for some time and so she lives a humble existence for now going on adventures with her elf friend named Willum. Willum however is not our only character and our other characters include witches, gypsies and talking animals as well as humans. Our novel is not all rainbows though and we have an evil fairy named Cormac who has an ambition to rule. He soon has complete control over the Magpies and Gnomes and he soon wreaks havoc on all the other creatures all because he desperately wants to rule and this is where our novel begins.

This story is full of charm and many colourful characters that children will fall in love with. The author M.J. Fahy takes the reader on a sweeping adventure and I adored how this novel was set in the English countryside as I am British whereas my husband is American so it is important to me that my children read about England. Each and every chapter is full of a new adventure and every page is enjoyable, even for adults! Children will absolutely adore this novel though it is a classic already and I think it is perfectly suitable for children to read.

To conclude my thoughts on this sweeping tale I would say if you have children or are looking for a gift for children then this is the perfect book for them. This enchanting novel gets Four Stars!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! Please do comment below and let me know your thoughts about this wonderful novel, do you see yourself reading it? Let me know below! Thank you so much for reading I really appreciate it!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link or the Book Depository link underneath the preview! Thank you so much again for reading!

Amazon USA

Goodreads

Book Depository

Barnes & Noble

Author Twitter

Leave a Reply

