Autumn Lady, AnneMarie Dapp

Mara McClain is a young Irish immigrant looking to begin anew in Victorian-era San Francisco, after the California Gold Rush. She struggles for both love and independence, as a budding businesswoman in a male-dominated society. 

Set amid the fascinating backdrop of San Francisco’s Golden Age, Autumn Lady draws from an eclectic cast of characters, both historical and original. It’s an idiosyncratic journey through the highs and lows, ballrooms and back rooms, alleys and the promenades, and the enchantment and viciousness, of an American city on the brink of a new era. 

Autumn Lady is not just the story of Mara McClain, it is the story of both a woman and a city coming of age in one of America’s most exciting historical periods. 

Autumn Lady is a charming, eloquent novel  that has made me fall in love with historical fiction all over again. This beautiful novel enchanted me both with its beautiful, descriptive literature as well as the incredible characters we encounter along the way. Here is a little bit more about this lovely novel.

Autumn Lady follows the life and tribulations of Mara McClain who is a young Irish immigrant who wants to begin her life anew in extravagant San Francisco. It follows her life and it is magical to see her journey as she tries to make a life for herself as a businesswoman in male-dominated society. This novel is not only a romance novel but it is also an examination of what the Victorian era was like and how it was to live in the decade, especially for young woman. I have to say also at this point that I adored that our protagonist Mara was Irish because I myself am half Irish and my whole family history is mixed up of Irish and Scottish so this was stunning to read!

The story of Autumn Lady is a beautiful, enchanting one and there are no words I can use to express how much I adored this sweeping adventure set in wonderful San Franciso in the Victorian period. This is another thing I adored about this novel, I am obsessed with any decade other than this one to be honest! I am obsessed with the 1920’s 30’s 40’s 50’s and so on but I am also obsessed with the Victorian period. I prefer to live a traditional way of life so reading about a time period that was very traditional was wonderful to me besides, the descriptions of the dresses and scenery were beautiful!

The characters our author AnneMarie Dapp has created were beautifully vivid and relateable. They were perfect additions to an already perfect story; The whole way thorough my journey of reading this book I was invested in every one of them, I rooted for them, I cried for them and I prayed that they would end up with all that they had wished for.

Dapp has managed to take the reader on a fascinating journey back through the decades. She eloquently places the reader right in the middle of bustling San Francisco, California and you feel as if you are right there, right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Now that I come to think of it the writing in this novel reminds me of that in Crimson Petal and the White. That novel perfectly takes the reader on a journey, literally as you are taken through the streets and if you have read that novel then you will now what I am talking about but my point is this novel reminded me of those descriptive powers so Dapp really has done a fantastic job at creating a spell-binding story.

To summarise my thoughts on this swooping tale I would say if you adore historical fiction novels surrounding the Victorian era and if you are interested in the Gold Rush then you will adore this novel because it has great historical fiction as well as many other wonderful things. This enchanting novel gets Five Stars from me!

Thank you so much for reading book lovers! Please do comment below and let me know your thoughts about this wonderful novel, do you see yourself reading it? Let me know below! Thank you so much for reading I really appreciate it!

Goodbye for now book lovers,

P.S. Here is a preview of the book for all of you lovely readers to enjoy! If you have loved what you have read and want to buy the wonderful novel then you can click the buy on amazon button and it will take you straight to Amazon U.K.! If you are international then click the Amazon USA link underneath it! Thank you so much again for reading!

 

P.P.S. Can we please appreciate how eloquent and beautiful this cover is?! I am in LOVE with it!

Amazon USA

Simon and Schuster

Torrid Books

Barnes & Noble

Books a Million

Google Play

Author Facebook

Author Twitter

Author Website

Author Instagram

Author Kobo

 

4 thoughts on “Autumn Lady, AnneMarie Dapp

  1. Ꮪinging worship songs is sweet but that?s not the one strategy
    too worship.? Daddy said, perhaps to make Larry stop singing.

    ?There are many ways to worship.

    Like

  2. Lеe and Larry cherished their sixth birthday paгty. Despite the fact
    that they had been twins, Mommy and Daⅾdy always made popsitіve they
    every had a particular time. And with their birthdays coming in December, Mommy and Daddy also at all times
    made sure their birthdaʏs have been splecial though Chhristmas was proper around
    the corner. The social gathering was so enjoyaЬle with a clown and cake and songs and gгeat presents from their matеs and grandparents and uncle and aunts.
    It glideԁ by so quicқ however before tһry knew it, everyone had gоne residencе and it was time to scrub up and prepare for bed.

    Like

  3. Effectіvely boys,? Mommy lastly sаid after that they had come up
    with numerous foolish concepts of what God did ffor fun, ?What God actually
    likes is ѡһen people love one another and
    handle each other likе we do in our family.? That
    made sense to Leee ɑnd Larry so Lee hugged
    Mommy and Larrry hugged daddy to only make Godd happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

